AASHE Campus and Student Sustainability Award Winners Announced

Embargoed until 12:01am EST Monday, September 21, 2009
Contact: Paul Rowland, AASHE Executive Director
Cell Phone: (720) 346-1432
Email: paul.rowland@aashe.org

Lexington, KY: The Association for the Advancement of Sustainability in Higher Education (AASHE) has announced the winners of its annual Campus Sustainability Leadership Awards. The awards recognize institutions that have demonstrated an outstanding overall commitment to sustainability in their education and research, campus operations, and administration and finance. The 2009 winners are: New York University, University of New Hampshire, Furman University (SC), and Butte College (CA).

In addition to the institutional awards, AASHE honors the work of students with two awards. This year’s Student Sustainability Leadership Award went to Missy! Orr, a senior at DePauw University. The award honors an undergraduate from an AASHE member institution who has demonstrated outstanding leadership in promoting campus sustainability. A team of graduate students from Stanford University won the Student Research on Campus Sustainability Award for their paper: “EVs with PVs: Analysis of Electric Vehicle Integration at Stanford University Using Solar PV Panels.” The student research award recognizes outstanding student research that advances the field of campus sustainability.

"We had a very competitive pool of applicants this year, so this is a significant achievement for each of the campus and student winners” said Paul Rowland, Executive Director of AASHE. “I am impressed with the continuing interest of institutions and individuals in leading and advancing sustainability.”

Casey Roe, a senior at American University, received special recognition in the Student Sustainability Leadership Award program. Chelsea Hodge, a senior at Pomona College, received special recognition in the Student Research on Campus Sustainability Award for her paper, “Hanging it Out on Campus: A Guide to Providing Line-Drying Options to College Students” .

The winners of the campus and student sustainability leadership awards will be featured in the October issue of Sustainability: The Journal of Record. The research award winner and honorable mention will be highlighted in the same issue of the Journal. In addition, the applications and papers received through each of the awards program are posted on the AASHE website.

The awards will be formally presented at the upcoming Greening of the Campus VIII Conference, Sept. 20-23 in Indianapolis, IN.

Brief summaries of the campus and student sustainability leadership award winners will be published in Sustainability: the Journal of Record. In addition, the full submissions for each award program (including the winning submissions) can be found at the following links:

The Association for the Advancement of Sustainability in Higher Education (AASHE) is an association of colleges and universities in the U.S. and Canada that are working to create a sustainable future. Its mission is to empower higher education to lead the sustainability transformation. AASHE does this by providing resources, professional development, and a network of support to enable institutions of higher education to model and advance sustainability in everything they do, from governance and operations to education and research.