Loading Events

« All Events

Coping with Climate Anxiety in the Classroom and for Yourself: a Workshop for College & University Faculty

July 23 @ 3:00 pm - 5:00 pm EDT

This event takes place online on July 23 starting at 9 am Hawaii/ 12 noon Pacific/ 3 pm Eastern/ 8 pm Central European Time.

 

The Worry & Hope study at the University of Hawaii revealed a pervasive emotional climate of fear, anger, sadness, shame and hope about climate change. College faculty already knew this, and are, themselves, feeling anxiety, grief, and additional stress that accompanies a sense of urgency and responsibility to teach and engage with students about climate change across all academic subject areas.

This two hour online workshop is for faculty to address their own emotions so that we can create and hold space in our classrooms for students to integrate and process hard realities about climate change impacts. If not here, where? If not us, who? A short overview of research on climate change education and pedagogies will be followed by experiential workshop going through 4 activities that you can then use in your classroom.  The activities are based on recent research as well as ecotherapy, ecopsychology, and the Active Hope work of Joanna Macy.

This event is Deeper Dive of the workshops from April, May and June (but everyone is welcome to attend), in which we will continue to learn from each other and build a set of practices that work in a higher education setting.

Krista Hiser is the Director of the University of Hawaii System Center for Sustainability Across the Curriculum (an AASHE Regional Center). She is also a longtime Professor of writing and teaches climate change communication, project-based sustainability capstone, and climate fiction.

Register today Deadline is July 22. Contact Krista Hiser with questions.

University of Hawaiʻi is one of the regional AASHE Centers for Sustainability Across the Curriculum. Centers host workshops and other professional development opportunities throughout the year. If you aren’t able to attend this event, please consider attending one of the other upcoming events organized by a Center.

Details

Date:
July 23
Time:
3:00 pm - 5:00 pm EDT
Event Category:
Event Tags:
Website:
https://forms.gle/KBMwCF7uDD6xHxPNA

Venue

Online