Advisory Council

AASHE’s Advisory Council (AC) promotes and supports the organization’s growth and development, and advises staff on complex and/​or specialized matters as well as general programmatic efforts​. The AC consists of leaders from higher education, business, nonprofit, and government sectors, nominated by AASHE members, volunteers and staff, and approved by the board of directors. The current description, and roles and responsibilities, were approved in September 2015.

Advisory Council Members

Michael Arny (term ends Dec 2017)
Leonardo Academy
Madison, Wis.

Elaine Aye (term ends Dec 2017)
Green Building Services, Inc.
Portland, Ore.

Peter W. Bardaglio (term ends Dec 2018)
Senior Fellow
Second Nature
Trumansburg, N.Y.

Bonny Bentzin (term ends Dec 2016)
Deputy Chief Sustainability Officer
University of California Los Angeles
Los Angeles, Calif.

Leanne Bilodeau (term ends Dec 2016)
Associate Director, Sustainability Operations, Campus Planning + Development
UBC Okanagan Campus
Kelowna, British Columbia, Can.

Davis Bookhart (term ends Dec 2016)
Senior Manager & Head, Sustainability Unit
Adjunct Assistant Professor, Division of Environment
Hong Kong University of Science & Technology

Sarah Brylinsky (term ends Dec 2017)
Sustainability Communications & Integration Manager
Cornell University
Ithaca, N.Y.

Jillian Buckholz (term ends Dec 2017)
Director of Sustainability
California State University East Bay
Hayward, Calif.

Henry Bullamore (term ends Dec 2017)
Frostburg State University
Frostburg, Md.

Wynn Calder (term ends Dec 2018)
University Leaders for a Sustainable Future (ULSF)
Washington, D.C.

Anthony D. Cortese (term ends Dec 2018)
Intentional Endowments Network
Cambridge, Mass.

Phoebe Crisman (term ends Dec 2016)
Associate Professor of Architecture
University of Virginia
Charlottesville, Va.

Dedee DeLongpre Johnston (term ends Dec 2016)
Director, Office of Sustainability
Wake Forest University
Winston-Salem, N.C.

Leanne Denby (term ends Dec 2016)
Director of Sustainability
Macquarie University
North Ride, NSW, Australia

Lisa Dockman (term ends Dec 2016)
Program Lead, Outreach & Engagement
University of Alberta
Edmonton, Alberta, Can.

Weston Dripps (term ends Dec 2016)
Associate Professor
Department of Earth & Environmental Sciences
Furman University
Greenville, S.C.

Bobbi Dunham (term ends Dec 2016)
Nova Scotia Community College
Halifax, Nova Scotia, Can.

James L. Elder (term ends Dec 2018)
Campaign for Environmental Literacy
Manchester, Mass.

Clara Fang (term ends Dec 2016)
Campus Planning & Sustainability Manager
Towson University
Baltimore, Md.

Ira Feldman (term ends Dec 2016)
Masters in Environmental Studies Program
University of Pennsylvania
Philadelphia, Pa.

Sierra Flanigan (term ends Dec 2016)
Managing Partner
Coalesce, LLC
Cambridge, Mass.

Anamarija Frankic (term ends Dec 2016)
Green Boston Harbor Project
Center for Governance and Sustainability
University of Massachusetts
Boston, Mass.

Stephania Fregosi (term ends Dec 2017)
Sustainability Coordinator
Chemeketa Community College
Salem, Ore.

Jess Gerrior (term ends Dec 2016)
Ph.D. Candidate/Lecturer
Antioch University New England
Keene, N.H.

Ciannat Howett (term ends 2016)
Director of Sustainability Initiatives
Emory University
Atlanta, Ga.

Nan Jenks-Jay (term ends Dec 2018)
Dean of Environmental Affairs
Middlebury College
Middlebury, Vt.

Melissa Kamai-Arambula (term ends Dec 2017)
Lansing Community College
Lansing, Mich.

Julian Keniry (term ends Dec 2018)
Senior Director
National Wildlife Federation
Reston, Va.

Bob Koester (term ends Dec 2016)
Director, Center for Research/Education/Service (CERES)
Ball State University
Muncie, Ind.

Jean MacGregor (term ends Dec 2018)
Senior Scholar, Washington Center for Improving the Quality of Undergraduate Education
Director, Curriculum for the Bioregion Initiative
The Evergreen State College
Olympia, Wash.

Sonia Marcus (term ends Dec 2016)
Director of Sustainability
University of North Carolina Asheville
Asheville, N.C.

Sara McKinstry (term ends Dec 2017)
Sustainability Director
University of California San Diego
San Diego, Calif.

Rich Miller (AASHE Board Member Liaison)
Director, Environmental Policy
University of Connecticut
Storrs, Conn.

Chris O'Brien (term ends Dec 2017)
Director, Higher Education Programs, Altenex
Lecturer, Kogod School of Business
Sustainability Management program, American University
Altenex, American University
Washington, D.C.

Mark Orlowski (term ends Dec 2017)
Founder & Executive Director
Sustainable Endowments Institute
Cambridge, Mass.

David Orr (term ends Dec 2018)
Paul Sears Distinguished Professor of Environmental Studies and Politics
Oberlin College
Oberlin, Ohio

Jacqueline Palmer (term ends 2016)
Deputy Director, Facilities Management
Bowie State University
Bowie, Md.

Jacob Park (term ends Dec 2016)
Associate Professor of Business Strategy and Sustainability
Director, Service Learning Program
Green Mountain College
Poultney, Vt.

Kelly Parker (term ends 2017)
Professor of Philosophy, Environmental Studies, and Liberal Studies
Grand Valley State University
Allendale, Mich.

Roderic A. Parnell (term ends Dec 2016)
Professor, School of Earth Sciences and Environmental Sustainability
Northern Arizona University
Flagstaff, Ariz.

Daniel Pedersen (term ends 2016)
Vice President of Science & Standards
Green Seal
Washington, D.C.

Linda Petee (term ends Dec 2017)
Sustainability and Risk Management Coordinator
Delta College
University Center, Mich.

Jacob Pollack (term ends Dec 2016)
Program Manager, Sustainability Leadership Certificate Program
University of Oregon
Eugene, Ore.

Stephenie Presseller (term ends Dec 2017)
Sustainability Manager/Center for Sustainability
Moraine Valley Community College
Palos Hills, Ill.

John Pumilo (term ends Dec 2016)
Director of Sustainability/President
Colgate University
Hamilton, N.Y.

Srinivasan Raghavan (term ends Dec 2017)
Sustainability Manager
University of Missouri, Columbia
Columbia, Mo.

Debra Rowe (term ends Dec 2018)
Faculty, Environmental Systems & Behavioral Sciences
Oakland Community College
President, U.S. Partnership for Education for Sustainable Development
Farmington Hills, Mich.

Caroline Savage (term ends Dec 2017)
Campus as Lab Manager
Princeton University
Princeton, NJ

Jacob Sherman (term ends Dec 2017)
Sustainability Curriculum Coordinator
Portland State University
Portland, Ore.

Jim Simon (term ends 2016)
Director of Sustainability
Gonzaga University
Spokane, Wash.

Heather Spalding (term ends Dec 2017)
Sustainability Leadership and Outreach Coordinator
Portland State University
Portland, Ore.

Matthew St. Clair (term ends Dec 2016)
Sustainability Manager
University of California Office of the President
Oakland, Calif.

Elizabeth Swiman (term ends Dec 2016)
Director, Sustainable Campus
Florida State University
Tallahassee, Fla.

Sheri Tonn (term ends Dec 2016)
Vice President, Finance and Operations
Pacific Lutheran University
Tacoma, Wash.

Andrea Trimble (term ends Dec 2017)
Sustainability Director
University of Virginia
Charlottesville, Va.

Ron van der Veen (term ends Dec 2016)
NAC | Architecture
Seattle, Wash.

Jim Walker (term ends Dec 2017)
Director of Sustainability
University of Texas at Austin
Austin, Texas

Shana Weber (term ends Dec 2018)
Director, Office of Sustainability
Princeton University
Princeton, N.J.

Aurora Winslade (term ends Dec 2017)
Sustainability Director
Swarthmore College
Swarthmore, Pa.