Campus Sustainability Leadership Awards

Notice: Starting in 2010, this Award category has been discontinued. We ask users to please visit the categories available for 2010 here:

Four Campus Sustainability Leadership Awards are presented annually to institutions that have made the greatest overall commitment to sustainability as demonstrated in their education and research, campus operations, and administration and finance. In 2009, one award was given in each of the following categories:

Congratulations to our 2009 winners!

Submissions were judged on the following criteria:

  • Overall impact of an institution's efforts, relative to the institution's size and wealth
  • Breadth of sustainability initiatives, especially the integration of social aspects of sustainability
  • Extent of student involvement in sustainability activities
  • Level of support from campus administration
  • Extent to which institution serves as a model for others

Journal coverThe winners of this year's Campus Sustainability Leadership Awards will be featured in Sustainability: The Journal of Record.  As in previous years, the winners are also likely to receive additional coverage in other media.  The awards were presented at the Greening of the Campus VIII Conference (Sept. 20-23 in Indianapolis, IN).

After the winners are announced, all Campus Sustainability Leadership Award applications are added to AASHE's online library of campus sustainability profiles.

Eligibility: Any college or university in the US and Canada is eligible for this award - there is no requirement for membership in AASHE. Campuses that have won an AASHE Campus Sustainability Leadership Award in the past 5 years are not eligible.

Application Process

We are no longer accepting applications for the 2009 awards program. The application forms for the 2010 awards will be posted in the spring of 2010. If you have any questions, please contact

Previous Campus Sustainability Leadership Award Winners

2006 Winner Berea College
2006 Campus Winner Berea College
L-R: Kathryn Streletzky (Office Depot), Tammy Clemons (Berea College), Judy Walton (AASHE)

Community colleges and other two-year institutions
College of Menominee Nation (2008)
Chandler-Gilbert Community College (2007)
Lane Community College (2006)

Four-year and graduate institutions under 1,000 student FTE
Northland College (2008)
Green Mountain College (2007)
Warren Wilson College (2006)

Four-year and graduate institutions 1,000 - 7,500 student FTE
Ithaca College (2008)
Middlebury College (2007)
Berea College (2006)

Four-year and graduate institutions over 7,500 student FTE
Tulane University (2008)
Michigan State University (2007)
University of British Columbia (2006)

Additional campus award applications are posted in our Campus Sustainability Profiles.