Campus Sustainability Leaders Take Center Stage at AASHE 2013

For media inquiries, contact:

Meghan Fay Zahniser
AASHE Director of Programs
(859) 898-0288


Campus Sustainability Leaders Take Center Stage at AASHE 2013
Winners of 8th Annual AASHE Awards Honored at AASHE 2013 Conference & Expo

Oct. 6, 2013 (Nashville, TN)--The Association for the Advancement of Sustainability in Higher Education (AASHE) has revealed the winners of its 2013 Sustainability Awards. From students driving statewide sustainability policy to innovative community based social marketing research, the eighth annual AASHE Sustainability Awards program features a versatile line-up of sustainability change makers. Award winners will be revealed today during the AASHE 2013 Conference & Expo at the Music City Center in Nashville.

Team members from the University of Minnesota's Next Generation Environmental Leaders group are receiving the Student Sustainability Leadership award for helping to shape statewide sustainability policy this past year. The student leaders played a key role in crafting strategies to respond to the state's many sustainability threats and opportunities, achieving several key policy goals related to clean energy, modernizing transportation and increasing sustainable agriculture.

A group of undergraduate students at Oberlin College are taking home the Student Research on Campus Sustainability Award for their community-based social marketing strategy to identify successful behavior change methods for a true campus culture of sustainability.

Winning in the Graduate category for the same award is the University of Hawaii at Manoa's Robert Stephen Brewer, whose doctoral dissertation focused on challenge design to best foster energy conservation and increase energy literacy on campuses.

With his research, Brewer has revolutionized the energy challenge model with two open source energy challenge software systems, an energy literacy assessment instrument, and by revealing fundamental problems with the use of baselines for assessing energy competitions.

Chevrolet is sponsoring this year's awards ceremony. Supporting the development of a carbon credit methodology focused on campus-wide reductions and high performance in individual LEED certified buildings, Chevrolet is providing funding for universities and colleges pursuing aggressive carbon reduction goals through clean, energy-efficient solutions.

A complete list of 2013 winners and finalists includes:

Student Sustainability Leadership Award

Natalie Hoidal, Elizabeth Just, Christy Newell, Patty O'Keefe, and Juan Medina-Bielski from the University of Minnesota's Next Generation Environmental Leaders group

* University of Oregon: Team "LiveMove"
* Eureka College: Student Alliance for a Greener Environment

Student Research on Campus Sustainability Award

Undergraduate Winner
Aaron Kozloff, Daniella Mostow and Alex Deeter from Oberlin College for their paper titled "Analysis of Student Behaviors Impacting Carbon Emissions Through Community Based Social Marketing Research"

Graduate Winner
Robert Stephen Brewer from the University of Hawaii at Manoa for his dissertation titled "Fostering Sustained Energy Behavior Change And Increasing Energy Literacy In A Student Housing Energy Challenge"

* University Minnesota, Twin Cities: Elizabeth Turner for her thesis titled "Envisioning the Carbon-Neutral Campus: Planning for Reduced Energy Consumption at St. Olaf College"
* University of California, Santa Barbara: Matthew O'Carroll, Kathryn Cole, Rebecca Dorsey, Dane Johnson, Briana Seapy, and Jewel Snavely for their thesis, "University of California, Santa Barbara Water Action Plan"
Campus Sustainability Case Study Awards

Associate College Winner (with 5,000 or fewer full-time students)
Southern Maine Community College: "Harnessing Seawater: An Innovative Thermal Exchange HVAC System"

Associate College Winner (with 5,000+ full-time students)
Metropolitan Community College (Omaha, NE): "Solar power, horticulture and culinary arts integration project"

Four-Year or Graduate Institution Winner (with 10,000 or fewer full-time students)
Warren Wilson College (NC): "Tree Inventory and Carbon Sequestration/Storage Analysis"

Four-Year or Graduate Institution Winner (with 10,000+ full-time students)
Dalhousie University (Nova Scotia, Canada): "College of Sustainability: Transforming a campus for sustainability education"

* Foothill College: "Sustainable Learning Community"
* Stanford University: "Advanced Climate Action: Stanford Energy and Climate Plan"
* University of Florida: "Sustainable Packaging at the University of Florida"
* University of Iowa: "Saving Iowa's Remaining Natural Jewels - an ecological restoration and renewable energy partnership"

AASHE is helping to create a brighter future of opportunity for all by advancing sustainability in higher education. By creating a diverse community engaged in sharing ideas and promising practices, AASHE provides administrators, faculty, staff and students, as well as the business that serve them, with thought leadership and essential knowledge resources, outstanding opportunities for professional development, and a unique framework for demonstrating the value and competitive edge created by sustainability initiatives. For more information, visit