Campus and Student Sustainability Award Winners Announced

Embargoed until 12:01am EST Monday, November 3, 2008
Contact: Julian Dautremont-Smith, AASHE Associate Director - (610) 349-5994

Lexington, KY: The Association for the Advancement of Sustainability in Higher Education (AASHE) has announced the winners of its annual Campus Sustainability Leadership Awards. The winners are: Tulane University (LA), Ithaca College (NY), Northland College (WI), and College of Menominee Nation (WI). The awards recognize institutions that have demonstrated an outstanding overall commitment to sustainability in their governance and administration, curriculum and research, operations, campus culture, and community outreach.

In addition to the institutional awards, AASHE honors the work of students with two awards. This year’s Student Sustainability Leadership Award went to Sarah E. Brylinsky, a senior at Ithaca College. The award honors an undergraduate from an AASHE member institution who has demonstrated outstanding leadership in promoting campus sustainability. Ryan Graunke, a recent graduate of the University of Florida, won the Student Research on Campus Sustainability Award for his paper: "Food and Fuel: Biogas Potential at Broward Dining Hall." The student research award recognizes outstanding student research that advances the field of campus sustainability.

"We had the most applications ever this year, so winning one of these awards is a significant accomplishment," said Judy Walton, the Acting Executive Director of AASHE.

Harford Community College (MD) received honorable mention in the Campus Sustainability Leadership Award program and Elizabeth Tellman, a senior at Santa Clara University, received honorable mention in the Student Sustainability Leadership Award program. Three papers received honorable mentions in the Student Research on Campus Sustainability Award program: "It’s Not Easy Being Green: Assessments and Strategies for Sustainable Institutions" by a team of 30 Carnegie Mellon University students; "Signaling Change: Studying the Effect of Price Signals on Disposable Hot Beverage Cup Consumption" by Laur Fisher, a recent graduate from Tufts University; and "Feasibility of Green Building at WPI" by Suzanne Peyser, a recent Masters graduate from Worcester Polytechnic Institute.

The winners of the campus and student sustainability leadership awards are highlighted in the October issue of Sustainability: the Journal of Record. The research award winner and honorable mentions will be featured in the December issue of the Journal. In addition, the applications and papers received through each of the awards program are posted on the AASHE website.

The awards will be formally presented at the upcoming AASHE 2008 conference, Working Together for Sustainability – On Campus and Beyond, Nov. 9-11 in Raleigh, NC. With over 1,700 registrants, the conference will be the largest gathering focused on campus sustainability to date in North America.

AASHE received 59 applications for the campus awards, 38 applicants for the student leadership award, and 37 submissions for the student research award. The award winners were selected by pools of campus sustainability experts assembled by AASHE.

Brief summaries of the campus and student sustainability leadership award winners can be found in Sustainability: the Journal of Record.  In addition, the full submissions for each award program (including the winning submissions) can be found at the following links:

AASHE, the Association for the Advancement of Sustainability in Higher Education, is an association of colleges and universities in the U.S. and Canada working to create a sustainable future. It was founded in 2006 with a mission to promote sustainability in all sectors of higher education - from governance and operations to curriculum and outreach - through education, communication, research and professional development.